Dapo Olorunyomi, veteran investigative journalist, and serial founder, to headline the 2023 Amplify In-depth Media (AIM) Conference & Awards


*Photo: Dapo Olorunyomi*

Dapo Olorunyomi, veteran investigative journalist, and serial journalism founder will headline and give the keynote address at the 2023 edition of the Amplify In-depth Media (AIM) Conference & Awards scheduled to take place on Friday 8 and Saturday 9 December 2023, at Abuja Continental Hotel (former Sheraton) in Abuja. Daily sessions will commence at 9am and the award ceremony will be held at 5pm on 9 December.

Dapo Olorunyomi, Founder Wole Soyinka Centre for Investigative Journalism (WSCIJ), Publisher Premium Times, and Founder/CEO Centre for Journalism Innovation and Development (CJID), among others, will be joined by over 40 other speakers to examine the broad theme ‘The independent media equation: Policies, ownership, technology and sustainability’. The conference will feature panel, experience-sharing, and workshops sessions that will explore critical sub-topics on policies, technology and artificial intelligence, sustainability, ethics in journalism, business models, and the sustained amplification and impact of investigative journalism beyond awards and donor interventions.

WSCIJ co-hosts the AIM Conference & Awards, this year, with MacArthur ‘On Nigeria Project’ Media and Journalism (MAJ) cohort, as a two-day physical and virtual conference to reflect on investigative journalism, democracy, and how to amplify, sustain investigative reporting and ideate on collectively strategies that foster change through conversations, debates, and practical explainers. The Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting is in its 18th year. It has since inception in 2005, recognised the contributions of 116 finalists, 59 Soyinka Laureates, 13 investigative journalists of the year and 28 honorary awards recipients.

The conference will culminate in the public presentation of the 2023 Wole Award for Investigative Reporting (WSAIR), to recognise best practices in investigative journalism. Admission to the conference and awards is open to journalists, editors, media owners, government representatives, diplomatic corps members, civil society representatives, donor organisations, and other stakeholders.

The MAJ cohort members, include Bayero University, Kano; the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC), Cable Newspaper Journalism Foundation, the Centre for Journalism Innovation and Development (CJID), Civic Media Lab, The Conversation Africa, Daily Trust Foundation, Daria Media, HumAngle Media, the International Centre for Investigative Reporting (ICIR), Nigeria Media Innovation Programme (NAMIP), Oya Media, Progressive Impact Organisation for Community Development (PRIMORG), Signature TV, Tiger Eye Foundation, Wadata Media & Advocacy Centre (WAMAC), Wole Soyinka Centre for Investigative Journalism (WSCIJ) and Women Radio WFM 91.7FM.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *