Nigeria Football Federation gets new president


*Photo: Ibrahim Gusau*
Former Chairman of Chairmen of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) and Zamfara State Football Association Chairman, Ibrahim Gusau has been declared winner of the 2022 NFF Presidential Elections .

In the election held  in Bini City, Edo State, Gusau defeated Peterside Idah by 39 votes to one in the re-run after Seyi Akinwunmi and Shehu Dikko withdrew from running for the re-run.

In the first round of the election, 10 aspirants were eyeing the position of the presidency but only seven candidates contested in the end, as the other three staged early withdrawal.

At the end of the voting, Ibrahim Gusau came out victorious with 21 votes to dump Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi to the second position with 12 votes.

Mallam Shehu Dikko placed 3rd with 6 votes while Abba Yola and Peterside Idah recorded 1 vote each.

The duo of Dr Emeriwa and David Doherty had zero votes.

FIFA and CAF Representatives on the ground in Benin City had to consult with the lawbooks to avoid any form of a lacuna.

Until Thursday uncertainty surrounding the election on whether it will take place or not due to the court injunction that was placed on it by the Players Union.

The football body on Thursday appealed the decision of the lower court which was granted and the election was allowed to go on.

The past board led by Amaju Melvin Pinnick served for eight years.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *