Federal High Court commences 50-year-anniversary celebration on Monday


The Federal High Court (FHC), Abuja will, on Monday, begin activities to commemorate 50 years of its Inception.

The Chief Registrar of FHC, Sulaiman Amida-Hassan, in the programme released in Abuja, disclosed that the activities would commence on Dec. 11 with devotional worships at the Holy Trinity Catholic Church and the National Mosque both in Abuja at 9:30am.


According to him, there will be a Special Legal Year Court Session at Ukeje Hall, FHC, Abuja also on Dec. 11 by 1:00pm.

He said a novelty football match between selected FHC judges and members of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) would be organised on Dec. 12 at 9:30am.


This, he said, would be followed by a presentation of publications of FHC by the Hon. Chief Judge, Hon. Justice John T. Tsoho at Ukeje Hall by 10:00am.

Amida-Hassan said that on Dec. 13, judges’ annual conference anniversary lectures would be opened at 9:30am and end by 12noon.

“Thursday, Dec. 14, 2023, judges’annual conference continues at 10am to 2:30pm.

“On Dec. 14 also, there will be Gala/Cultural Night (Dress Code: Native/National Attire) at the Ballroom 232, Mohammadu Buhari Way, Central Business District, Abuja, FCT at 5:00pm.

“On Friday, Dec. 15, 2023, there will be an health talk for honourable judges, Hon. Chief Judge’s Merit Awards Ceremony and closure of judges’ annual conference at National Stadium, Abuja by 4:00pm,” he said.

He said the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, would chair the occasion.

The FHC, which was established in 1973, was formerly known as Federal Revenue Court.

It was established by the Federal Revenue Act 1973 (1973 No.13) and began with four judges with a president as its head.

The court was, however, renamed the “Federal High Court” by Section 228 (1) and 230 (2) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1979.

While Honourable Justice S.O. Lambo was the first president of the then Federal Revenue Court and served between 1973 and 1975, Justice John Tsoho is the 10th and current Chief Judge of FHC.

The court, which had grown structurally over the years, presently has 38 divisions in all the states of the federation, including Abuja, where its headquarters is located, with 95 judges.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *