Oke-Ogun Centrepiece Alliance inaugurated

*Justice Munta Abimbola (left) exchanging
 pleasantries with Professor Sola Aderounmu, 
with the Commissioner for Special Duties,
 Oyo State, Alhaja Fausat Joke Sanni, in 

The Oke-Ogun Centrepiece Alliance,
 a non-partisan, not-for-profit group
of Oke-Ogun indigenes from all walks 
of life focused on the sustainable 
development of the region was inaugurated 
on 30th December, 2021, at Oje-Owode.

Some of the dignitaries present at the
inauguration are the Chief Judge of Oyo State, 
Justice Munta Abimbola; the Commissioner for 
Special Duties, Alhaja Fausat Joke Sanni;
 the Chairperson Saki-East Local Government Area, 
Mrs. Rahmat Adeniran;  former President
 of the Nigeria Computer Society, Professor Sola Aderounmu;
 Professor of Nuclear Physics at Obafemi Awolowo University, 
Ile-Ife, Professor Musibau Fasasi; former Registrar, 
Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso, 
Mr. Sunday Fehintola; former Minority Leader, Oyo State House 
of Assembly, Honourable Rafiu Adekunle; former Member
of the House of Representatives(Irepo/Olorunsogo/Oorelope), 
Honourable Lanre Agoro;  the Baale Sepeteri of Saki, High Chief 
Jimoh Babalola; former Chairperson of Saki East LGA, 
Honourable Moruf Dele Salau; Alhaji Rafiu Afolabi, Director,
 Ministry of Communications and 
Digital Economy, Abuja.


Also present at the inauguration was the former Chairperson,
Saki-East LGA, Mr. Babatunde Ojo;  former Chairperson, Irepo LGA,
 Mr. Ibrahim A. Tijani; former Director, Saki Satellite Campus of 
The Polytechnic, Ibadan, Dr. Y.Y. Muslim; former Minister of Communications,
 Barrister Bayo Shittu, represented by Mr. Azeez Yunus; 
Convener, Oke Ogun Project Forum, Esv. Ismail Adewoyin;
 Coordinator of the Oke-Ogun Centrepiece Alliance,
Professor Yisa Kehinde Yusuf who is a former Dean of the Faculty of Arts 
at Obafemi Awolowo University and current Member of the Governing Council 
of the University of Maiduguri.

The Chairman of the Coordinating Committee while speaking at the
 inauguration stated the core membership of the Organisation to 
be a large group of individuals from Oke-Ogun who have demonstrated 
unassailable commitment to or are interested in the promotion 
of education in the region.

He pointed out that the core values of the group include Honesty/Integrity,
Transparency, Accountability, Empathy, Mentorship, Networking,
 and Collaboration.

He highlighted the objectives of the Organisation which include
 the promotion of the educational advancement of Oke-Ogun at all
levels;  facilitating entrepreneurial empowerment of individuals 
and groups of Oke-Ogun origin;  undertaking pro-Oke-Ogun 
advocacy in all realms of society; and engaging in any other 
activities that would enhance the development of the region.

While contributing to the discussion of the remarks of the Professor
 of English Language, members present who were of diverse political 
and other affiliations were unanimous in pledging total support for 
the realisation of the noble objectives of the new Organisation.
The meeting affirmed the appointment of Professor Yisa Kehinde Yusuf 
as the Chairperson of the Coordinating Committee and Esv Ismail Adewoyin as 
the Secretary. Representatives of the different Local Government
 Areas of Oke-Ogun were similarly appointed.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *