Ganduje, Osoba, Adedoyin, Others Attend NGE Biennual Convention in Kano …Editors Elect New Officers

Kano State Governor, Dr Abdullahi Ganduje, former Ogun State Governor, Aremo Olusegun Osoba, International Press Institute Executive (IPI) Board member, Oloriewe Raheem Adedoyin, Presidential Media Aide, Mallam Garba Shehu and Acting Provost, Nigerian Institute of Journalism( NIJ), Mr. Gbenga Adefaye were among the 250 delegates that attended the Biennial Nigerian Guild of Editors( NGE) convention in Kano.
Governor Abdullahi Ganduje in his address at Convention on Monday tasked journalists on the need to demonstrate professionalism in their reportage as they serve as a link between the government and the people.
The governor said it was imperative that the media profession sanitised itself of those who were unprofessional in their reportage.
He also said that ethical and professional standards were prerequisites to showcasing the pivotal roles that journalism played in the society and national building.
“While you are singing the chorus of freedom of press, please don’t forget to complement it by singing the verse of the ethics of the profession also.
“I believe that absence of influential press council that should regulate the media has affected the media practice.
“Self regulation is not enough for any professional body; this is because of the complexity of human beings,” he explained.
Mr Mustapha Isah was re-elected President of the Nigerian Guild of Editors (NGE) during the convention.
Isah won the election with 176 votes to defeat Ms Victoria Ibanga who polled 54 votes at the NGE 2021 Biennial Convention on Monday in Kano.
Two Vice Presidents for the West and East were elected in the election, respectively. They are Mr Sam Egbala (132 votes) and Mr Bolaji Adebiyi (132) , while Mr Ali M. Ali was returned unopposed as Deputy President.
Others returned unopposed are Malam Habibu Kila as Vice President (North) and Mr Iyobosa Uwugiaren as the General Secretary.
Similarly, Mr Ngwoke Ngwoke and Mrs Boma Nwuke emerged as Standing Committee members (East) while Mr Umoru Ibrahim and Gbenga Adeshina emerged for the North.
Mr Steve Nwosu clinched the position of Treasurer with 150 votes after defeating Catherine Agbo (51 votes) and Juliet Njiowohor (26).
Mr Eze Anaba with 164 votes defeated Chooks Oko (53) to emerge as the Social/Publicity Secretary, while Mr Austeen Elewodalu (126) defeated Rose Moses (82) to return as the Assistant General Secretary.
In the Standing Committee Member election for the West, Gabriel Akinadewo, Managing Director of Freedom Online, got 174 votes, Onuoha Ukeh (174) and Wole Sogunle (172) to emerge winners.
Abimbola Tooki got 61 votes.
The elected officials were inaugurated immediately after the declaration of the result.
In his acceptance speech, Isah promised to move the Guild forward in line with his campaign promises.
He commended members of the Guild for their support and cooperation, and pledged to justify the confidence reposed in him.
About 250 delegates took part in the election.
The convention with theme: “The Media in COVID-19 Era: Challenges and Opportunities,’’ was attended by editors representing various media organisations in the country.
The election committee was presided over by Mr Bonnie Iwuoha who supervised the hitch-free exercise and announced the result.
Kano State Governor also invited the delegates to inspect and assess his development projects.
On the turnout at the event, Malam Sule Yau-Sule, the Chairman of the Local Organising Committee (LOC), said:
“People are happy with the peaceful atmosphere of the state, that is why the turn out is every impressive”.
The NGE convention is the first to be hosted in Kano.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *