CIPM holds 53rd Annual General Meeting

  • Mr. Olusegun Mojeed, FCIPM, newly elected President being decorated with insignia of office by Mr. Wale Adediran, FCIPM, the immediate Past President of CIPM while Lady Beatrice Oji watches with interest. *

The 53rd Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Chartered Institute of Personnel Management of Nigeria (CIPM) held on Wednesday, April 27, 2022. The virtual meeting was attended by over 500 members across membership grades, globally.


A statement released by the Institute’s National Secretariat stated that all reports were presented, discussed and adopted by participants. The statement expresses their profound gratitude to all the Institute’s founding Fathers and Elders, the Governing Council, Partners, HQ Staff, Members and other esteemed stakeholders for their unwavering support and contributions to the Institute’s agenda, both historically and in the year under review, which helped the Institute achieve the outcomes presented at the AGM.

Following the end of the electronic-voting and confirmation of the result by the Quality Assurance firm, KPMG, the result of the election was announced by the Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Lady Beatrice Oji, FCIPM.
‘The spirit of one good term deserves another’ seems to play out at the elections, as the entire Leadership were returned unopposed for the positions of President, Vice President and National Treasurer respectively as presented below:

2. MR. HENRY UNUAKPOR, MCIPM – Vice President  
3. MRS. CHIDINMA OBIEJESI, MCIPM – National Treasurer  

Also, election was held into the position of five elected Governing Council slots. The following contestants were successful at the poll as announced by the Electoral Committee

Elected Council Members 1. MRS. ADEOLA ADEPEGBA, MCIPM

Meanwhile, a candidate for the position of elected Council member was disqualified by the electoral Committee on the ground of a breach of electoral guiding rules.

In view of the above results, the contestants for the President, Vice President and National Treasurer positions were re-elected, while the following contestants are elected into the Council position as members – Mrs. Adeola Adepegba, MCIPM; Mr. Olakanmi Abraham Amoo-Onidundu, FCIPM; Mr. Adeniyi Aromolaran, FCIPM; Mr. Abayomi Fawehinmi, MCIPM; Mr. Jide Akinleye, MCIPM.  

The Electoral Committee Chair, Lady Beatrice Oji led members of Leadership present in taking the oath of office.

Kudos to the Electoral Committee under the able leadership of Lady Beatrice Oji, FCIPM, for a job well done. Also, worthy of commendation is the Quality Assurance firm, KPMG for sustaining the integrity of the Institute’s free and fair e-voting process since inception.

At the event, the Best and Most Improved State Branches were also recognised and awarded as follows:
A. Best Branch Awards
1st Position – CIPM Lagos State Branch
1st Position – CIPM Oyo State Branch
3rd Position – CIPM Rivers State Branch
3rd Position – CIPM Kogi State Branch

B. Most Improved Branch
1st – CIPM Kogi State Branch (from 19th position in 2020 to 3rd position in 2021)
2nd – CIPM Kaduna State Branch (from 18th position in 2020 to 9th position in 2021)
3rd – CIPM Akwa Ibom State Branch (from 17th position in 2020 to 9th position in 2021).

Other Branches like Delta State and Plateau State also improved significantly.  

Congratulations to all award winners especially Lagos and Oyo State for clinching the best Branch awards in a keen contest. Most improved award recipients and others in the category are equally commended for recording steady growth on the set parameters in their respective Branches.

The awards were presented by the Chairman, Board of Fellows and Registrar Emeritus, Mr. Sunday Adeyemi, FCIPM and Mr. Wale Adedidran, FCIPM.

In his acceptance speech, the re-elected President, Mr. Olusegun Mojeed, FCIPM, appreciated other returning officers, the Immediate Past President, Mr. Wale Adediran, FCIPM, the Electoral Committee Members, HQ Staff, and welcomed onboard the two new Elected Council Members. Furthermore, he thanked Members who voted and conferred their confidence on the Elected Officers. He noted that the reward for good work is even more work and the team will continue in the same trajectory to move forward and ensure that the Institute keeps making giant strides.

The President specially recognized one of the Institute’s elders, Mrs. Olufunmilayo Green, FCIPM, for her presence and participation. In addition, he appreciated the efforts of Mr. Oluyemi Adeosun, MCIPM for his stellar contributions to the Institute’s successes during his tenure as an Elected Council Member, managing the MSMEs portfolio.

The National Secretariat of CIPM heartily congratulate the re-elected and newly elected Officers and wish them a successful tenure in office even as we accord them our unwavering support.

It is gratifying to note that the first term of the current Leadership and Council work harmoniously have the following as achievements along with other milestones accomplished in the last ten months:

  1. Held first-ever hybrid Annual National Conference (ANC) successfully in 2021. A great success in content, coverage, and communication with delegates, Speakers, thought Leaders from all over the globe participated.
  2. CIPM Body of knowledge (BoK) was launched at the Conference
  3. Successfully held 2022-2224 Strategic Retreat and articulated the Institute’s Vision, Mission and Core values. The fallout of the strategic thrust will form the basis for the Institute’s transformation for improved impact and influence;
  4. Resuscitated two inactive Branches – Cross River and Ebonyi;
  5. Inaugurated Adamawa branch in the North East;
  6. Introduced monthly “CIPM and You” webinar series and the weekly Radio show titled “The Office” as avenues to keep esteemed members up to date.
  7. Launched feedback engagement session series tagged “Day out with the President”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *