Arc. Ibrahim Sani Khalil emerges new National President of ABU Alumni Association


A former Secretary-General of the Nigerian Institute of Architects (NIA) and Lecturer at the Department of Architecture, Bayero University Kano, Dr. Ibrahim Sani Khalil, has emerged as the New National President of ABU Alumni Association worldwide.

Dr. Ibrahim Sani Khalil defeated Alh. Abubakar Ladan from Kebbi State branch with a total vote of 170 against 153 during the 14th annual general assembly of association which held at Kongo Confluence Hotel, Zaria.


Another distinguished Abusite Malam Adamu Mamman Kontagora was elected as the new Deputy National President with 200 votes defeating Prof. Sunday Ogunduyele, the current Vice-Chancellor of Ondo State University of Science and Technology who got 124 votes.

Arc. Ibrahim Sani Khalil New National President of ABU Alumni Association taking the oath of office
The newly elected president and executives taking the oath of office.

Mr. Mathew Okechukwu was elected as the Vice President South East with 180 votes while his opponent Mr. Jeff Nsubodu scored 110 votes. All other positions were returned unopposed.

In his inaugural speech, the newly elected National President of ABU Alumni Association World Wide, Arc. Ibrahim Sani Khalil said the art of giving back shall be the guiding principles for the growth and development of the institution in his administration.

He assured members that his administration will give priority to the structures, academic and administrative of the University as well as the immediate university community.

ALSO READ:  Why we want to launch an Endowment Fund for ABU – VC

Dr. Sani Khalil said the National Executive Council and the National Consultative Council are the key arms of the association and his administration shall ensure that their roles are enhanced and not eroded.

He also assured of mobilizing students to understand the rudiments of the alumni association in order to develop themselves for the future.

”Documentation of all activities especially recommendations and approvals in respect of the finances of the association shall follow due process and international best practices as an Abusite is always ahead. He said.

”Alumni’s relationship with the directorate of the university advancement, a good and healthy relationship shall be maintained with a view to the expansion and developmental needs of the institution”. He added

Ibrahim Sani Khalil assured members that the financial activities of the association shall be synchronized with international best practices for transparency and accountability.

The newly-elected National President who is from Kano State Branch is currently the Head of the Department of Architecture, Bayero University Kano.

ALSO READ:  FG releases new update about reopening of tertiary institutions

Executive officers returned unopposed are Barrister A. A. Irogalachi as Legal Adviser, Mr. Sam Agbi Treasurer, Mallam Danjuma Muhmud as Public Relations Officer, Magaji Abubakar Mato as Internal Auditor.

Others are Prof. Maryam Aminu Assistant Secretary-General, Arc. Lawal M. Yusuf as Secretary-General while Mr. Lanre Ahmed Olanrewaju is the Vice President North Central, Pharm. Ali Gajerima Vice President North East and Alh. Aliyu Mohammed Anka Vice President North West.

Prince Ovanramren Samwonyi is the Vice President South-South, and Dr. Ibrahim Hassan – Vice President International Branches, while Barr. Lateef Abdulsalam Vice President South West.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *